Taxonomic Certification Committee


With the approval of the Society for Freshwater Science (SFS), the Taxonomic Certification Committee (TCC) will develop policies, standards, and procedures regarding taxonomic certification. The TCC is a SFS standing committee, consisting of a chair, a co-chair, and up to nine other members (total 11 members).

In order to implement and manage the Taxonomic Certification Program, a Taxonomic Program Coordinator is appointed by the TCC to develop and maintain the various aspects of the program. The Coordinator is selected by the TCC and functions under the TCC’s supervision, but will not be a member of the TCC. The Coordinator must be a member of SFS in good standing.

The TCC will be directly responsible for ensuring that the Coordinator executes all duties as identified.

Committee Members

  • Bern Sweeney, Ph.D. (co-chair), President and Distinguished Research Scientist, Stroud Water Research Center, Avondale, Pennsylvania.
  • John Morse, Ph.D. (co-chair), Professor Emeritus of Entomology, Director Emeritus of the Clemson University Arthropod Collection, Plant and Environmental Sciences Department, Clemson University, Clemson, South Carolina.
  • Gary Lester, CEO, EcoAnalysts, Inc., Moscow, Idaho.
  • Scott Miller, Ph.D., Director, Bureau of Land Management National Aquatic Monitoring Center, Utah State University, Logan, Utah.
  • Richard Mitchell, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Office of Water, Washington, D.C.
  • Barry Poulton, Ph.D., Leader of Bioassessment Research, USGS Columbia Environmental Research Center, Columbia, Missouri.
  • Stephanie Strachan, Environmental Studies Scientist, Environment & Climate Change Canada, Vancouver, British Columbia.
  • James (Sam) Stribling, Director, Integrated Ecological Assessments,Tetra Tech, Inc., Center for Ecological Sciences, Owings Mills, Maryland.
  • Mark Wetzel, Aquatic Oligochaetologist/Macroinvertebrate Zoologist, Illinois Natural History Survey, Prairie Research Institute at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Champaign, Illinois.

Give the Gift of Fresh Water

As you give thanks for the gifts in your life, we invite you to give the gift of water. Clean drinking water, good health, happy trout, productive soil, clean air, the simple joys of swimming, boating, fishing — our healthy freshwater ecosystems make these and so many other things possible.

Your donation today will help preserve and protect
the future of fresh water.