The Water’s Edge

Each year Stroud Water Research Center hosts The Water’s Edge gala in celebration of our most precious resource — water. This special evening allows us to bring together our friends and neighbors whose support is critical to our endeavors. Proceeds from the evening support our freshwater research, restoration, and education programs.

Stroud Award for Freshwater Excellence

Presented at The Water’s Edge gala each year since 2011, the Stroud Award for Freshwater Excellence, also known as the SAFE Water Award, is a prestigious award for outstanding achievement in freshwater-related activities. Honorees represent regions and watersheds from around the world and a broad range of freshwater-related activities, professions, and scientific disciplines. The award honors individuals, institutions, or organizations whose work contributes broadly to:

  • Conserving and protecting freshwater resources and ecosystems,
  • Improving the quantity and quality of fresh water on the planet, or
  • Developing policies and practices which help perpetuate clean fresh water for future generations of humans and wildlife.

SAFE Water Award Recipients

Click on an image to learn more.

Laura Turner Seydel in a boat with water in the background.
Laura Turner Seydel (2023)
The 2022 Stroud Award for Freshwater Excellence
Michael E. Mann, Ph.D. (2022)
Melissa Ho, Ph.D.
Melissa D. Ho, Ph.D. (2021)
The 2020 Stroud Award for Freshwater Excellence
The Redford Center (2020)
Chad Pregracke
Chad Pregracke (2019)
Wm. Bob Irvin of American Rivers
American Rivers and Its President, Bob Irvin (2018)
H.S.H. Prince Albert II of Monaco
H.S.H. Prince Albert II of Monaco (2017)
Jonathan Jarvis of the National Parks Service.
The National Park Service and Its Director, Jonathan Jarvis (2016)
Alexandra Cousteau (2015)
Bern Sweeney with Robert F. Kennedy Jr.
Robert F. Kennedy Jr. (2014)
Jane Lubchenco received the SAFE Award from Rod Moorhead and Bern Sweeney.
Jane Lubchenco (2013)
Kathryn Sullivan with the SAFE Award
Kathryn Sullivan (2013)
John Briscoe receiving the SAFE Award from Bern Sweeney.
John Briscoe (2012)
Olivia Newton-John and John Easterling with SAFE Award
Olivia Newton-John and John Easterling (2011)

The Water’s Edge Speakers

Dr. Peter Gleick headshot.
Peter Gleick (2010)
Ian Hutton at work.
Ian Hutton (2009)
Headshot of Flip Nicklin.
Flip Nicklin (2008)
Kris Tompkins speaks at The Water’s Edge gala.
Kristine McDivitt Tompkins (2007)
Wangari Maathi at The Water’s Edge gala.
Wangari Maathai (2006)
Headshot of William McDonough.
William McDonough (2005)
Headshot of Sylvia Earle.
Sylvia Earle (2004)
Bern Sweeney presents Jane Goodall with a Leaf Pack Experiment kit.
Jane Goodall (2003)