Taxonomic Certification Examination

Macroinvertebrate Taxonomic Certification

We offer the following exams: citizen scientist (order level and above), family level, and genus level. All exams have a three-hour time limit. Visit the Taxa Study List page to see what each exam covers.

The successful completion of the taxonomic certification process results in a certificate of proficiency in performing taxonomic identifications of freshwater benthic macroinvertebrates. This process includes payment of a certification fee and passing an examination for a particular region and taxonomic group with a score of 95% or better. As part of this program, the certification credentials remain valid for five years.

Diatom Taxonomic Certification

The Level 1 Diatom Taxonomic Certification indicates an up-to-date working knowledge of the diagnostic characteristics of accepted North American inland diatom genera, providing a practical base for proficiency in performing taxonomic identifications of inland diatoms at the genus level. This serves as the first step to certification at the species level.

Certification Information

Additional Resources