NOAA Leaders Sullivan, Lubchenco Honored for Freshwater Stewardship

450 299 Stroud Water Research Center


Diane Huskinson, Stroud™ Water Research Center

Stroud ™Water Research Center’s director, Bern Sweeney, Ph.D., received the 2013 Forest Champion Lifetime Achievement award from the Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay and the U.S. Forest Service at the Chesapeake Watershed Forum held at the National Technical Training Center in Shepherdstown, W.Va.

2013 Stroud Award for Freshwater Excellence recipient Jane Lubchenco, Ph.D., with Stroud Water Research Center Board Chairman Rod Moorhead (left) and Director Bernard Sweeney, Ph.D. (right) at Longwood Gardens. Photo: Yeda Arscott

Avondale, Pa. – Jane Lubchenco, former Under Secretary of Commerce for the National Oceans and Atmosphere Administration (NOAA), and Kathryn Sullivan, Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere and NOAA Administrator received the 2013 Stroud Award for Freshwater Excellence for their commitment to stewardship of fresh water. Stroud Water Research Center presented the award at The Water’s Edge, the annual gala at Longwood Gardens in the suburbs of Philadelphia on Tuesday evening, Oct. 15, 2013.

This prestigious award, also known as the SAFE Water Award™, is awarded for outstanding achievement to those who contribute broadly to the conservation and protection of fresh water. A unique crystal vase designed by Simon Pearce accompanies the award. Past recipients have included John Briscoe, Ph.D., in 2012, and Olivia Newton-John and John Easterling in 2011.

Stroud Center Director Bern Sweeney, Ph.D., and Board Chairman Rod Moorhead presented the award to Dr. Lubchenco, who also accepted on behalf of Dr. Sullivan. Dr. Sullivan was unable to attend due to the federal government shutdown.

Upon accepting the award, Dr. Lubchenco said, “Science is critical, but it’s not sufficient. Clear communication of scientific results is really important and so too are relationships, funders, diplomacy, and changing incentives. With the right combination of people and events, we can achieve sustainable solutions. I think, collectively, until we solve the problems that are going on in D.C., much of the action is going to be at the local and state levels.”

About Jane Lubchenco, Ph.D.
Dr. Jane Lubchenco was the first woman to be appointed under secretary of commerce for oceans and atmosphere and NOAA administrator. She served in this role from 2009 to 2013.

Under her leadership, NOAA has focused on restoring fisheries to sustainability and profitability, restoring oceans and coasts to a healthy state, ensuring continuity of the nation’s weather and other environmental satellites, developing a Weather-Ready Nation, promoting climate science and delivering quality climate products, strengthening science and ensuring scientific integrity at NOAA, and delivering the highest quality science, services and stewardship possible.

Dr. Lubchenco is one of the “most highly cited” ecologists in the world, and eight of her publications are recognized as “Science Citation Classics.”

About Kathryn Sullivan, Ph.D.
Dr. Kathryn Sullivan was one of the first six women selected to join the NASA astronaut corps in 1978 and holds the distinction of being the first American woman to walk in space. She flew on three shuttle missions during her 15-year tenure, including the mission that deployed the Hubble Space Telescope. Dr. Sullivan has also served on the National Science Board (2004-2010) and as an oceanographer in the U.S. Navy Reserve (1988-2006).

Dr. Sullivan’s impressive expertise spans the frontiers of space and sea. An accomplished oceanographer, she was appointed NOAA’s chief scientist in 1993, where she oversaw a research and technology portfolio that included fisheries biology, climate change, satellite instrumentation and marine biodiversity.