Menu
:
:



Monitor My Watershed and EnviroDIY: Open-Source Environmental Sensors to Monitor Water Quality with Real-Time Access to Data

April 8, 2020, 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM EDT
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Monitor My Watershed and EnviroDIY: Open-Source Environmental Sensors to Monitor Water Quality with Real-Time Access to Data

April 8, 2020 , 2:00 PM 3:00 PM EDT

When: Wednesday, April 8, 2020, 11 a.m. PT / 2 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. GMT
Where: Online via GoToWebinar

Presented by 

Waterkeeper Alliance logo

Webinar Speaker: David B. Arscott, Ph.D., Stroud Research Center

Scientists and educators around the world have been building their own dataloggers and devices using a variety of open-source electronics platforms like Arduino®. Many of these efforts have advanced to the point that high-quality scientific measurements can be made using relatively inexpensive and increasingly off-the-shelf components.

This webinar will introduce resources and tools that you can use to build real-time, low-cost data loggers that can form the core of your DIY environmental monitoring system. Material available at https://wikiwatershed.org/monitor/ provides resources, tutorials, and data capture/visualization solutions that make building, deploying and using a “home-built” environmental monitoring station a viable option for high-quality environmental monitoring.

Monitoring stations that we have deployed to date around the world include a solar-powered datalogger connected to radio telemetry that connects to a variety of sensors, such as water depth, temperature, conductivity, turbidity, dissolved oxygen, precipitation, soil moisture, and soil redox conditions. This webinar will introduce attendees to websites, programs, and resources to learn how to participate in do-it-yourself, real-time water quality monitoring.

Details

Date:
April 8, 2020
Time:
2:00 PM – 3:00 PM EDT
Event Category:

Online

Give the Gift of Fresh Water

As you give thanks for the gifts in your life, we invite you to give the gift of water. Clean drinking water, good health, happy trout, productive soil, clean air, the simple joys of swimming, boating, fishing — our healthy freshwater ecosystems make these and so many other things possible.

Your donation today will help preserve and protect
the future of fresh water.