National Park Service Director Jonathan Jarvis to Receive SAFE Award

285 362 Stroud Water Research Center


Diane Huskinson

WHAT: Stroud Award for Freshwater Excellence at Annual Gala, The Water’s Edge at Longwood Gardens

WHO: Stroud Water Research Center

WHEN: Thursday, November 3, 2016

WHERE: Longwood Gardens
1001 Longwood Road
Kennett Square, PA 19348

On the centennial anniversary of one of America’s greatest treasures, the 2016 Stroud Award for Freshwater Excellence (the SAFE Water Award) will be presented to the National Park Service and its director, Jonathan Jarvis.

Jarvis will receive the award during the annual Water’s Edge gala to be held on November 3 at Longwood Gardens in Kennett Square, Pennsylvania.

Jarvis’ 39-year career has taken him from ranger to resource management specialist to park biologist to superintendent of parks such as Craters of the Moon, North Cascades, Wrangell-St. Elias, and Mount Rainer. Before becoming the director of the National Park Service in 2009, Jarvis served as regional director of the bureau’s Pacific West Region. He is now responsible for overseeing an agency with more than 22,000 employees and a $3 billion budget.

Guiding the National Park Service into its second century is Jarvis’ plan, A Call to Action, which outlines ways the National Park Service will continue to preserve America’s special places throughout the 21st century. Crystal Clear — one of the points in the plan — highlights how the National Park Service will continue its commitment to the health and protection of America’s freshwater systems.

The diverse areas managed by the National Park Service encompass more than 84 million acres and serve to preserve and protect freshwater resources throughout the United States, while the 280 million annual visitors generate $30 billion in economic benefit across the nation.

It is with great pleasure that Stroud Water Research Center confers this award to Jonathan Jarvis for his support of this country’s natural resources and in honor of the 100th anniversary of the National Park Service, which has done so much to preserve and protect freshwater resources.

Join the Stroud Center Board of Directors and National Park Service Director Jonathan Jarvis for an informative lecture followed by an elegant dinner to celebrate the conservation of freshwater resources and 100 years of America’s national parks. Tickets and sponsorship packages are available on our events page.

Presented each year since 2011, the Stroud Award for Freshwater Excellence honors individuals, institutions, or organizations whose work contributes broadly to the conservation and protection of freshwater resources and ecosystems, improving the quantity and quality of fresh water, or developing policies and practices which help perpetuate clean fresh water for future generations and wildlife. Prior recipients include Alexandra Cousteau in 2015; Robert F. Kennedy Jr. in 2014; Jane Lubchenco, Ph.D., and Kathryn Sullivan, Ph.D., in 2013; John Briscoe, Ph.D., in 2012; and Olivia Newton-John and husband John Easterling, in 2011.