Arscott Takes Reins as Executive Director

1024 538 Stroud Water Research Center

Dear Friend of Stroud Water Research Center,

As the Stroud Center’s Chairman of the Board of Directors for many years, I have had the pleasure to collaborate with Bern Sweeney, Ph.D., in his position as Executive Director and President. Always passionate in the mission to advance freshwater research, education, and restoration, Bern stewarded the vision that Joan and Dick Stroud and Ruth Patrick, Ph.D., conceived 50 years ago. He helped build and strengthen the world-renowned Stroud Water Research Center for more than 40 years.

After decades of such exceptional leadership, Bern is ready to focus on his primary passion at the Stroud Center, research, and continue to help with outreach and fundraising activities. To this end, he is transitioning from Executive Director and will serve full-time as a scientist and President of Stroud Water Research Center Inc. Additionally, I am pleased to share with you his well-deserved recognition in a title promotion from Senior Research Scientist to Distinguished Research Scientist.

David Arscott, Ph.D., who has served as Assistant Director for seven years, has been appointed the new Executive Director. Prior to serving as Assistant Director, Dave was the Project Coordinator at the Stroud Center for a three-year research project that tested all of the streams and rivers feeding Manhattan’s drinking water. Dave’s scientific background and inner knowledge of our operations make him an ideal choice to continue the Stroud Center’s cutting-edge research, award-winning education programs, and watershed restoration efforts throughout the region.

On behalf of the Board of Directors, I share with you our confidence in Dave’s ability to lead Stroud Water Research Center with strength, optimism, and hope for the future of fresh water.

With warm regards,

Rodman W. Moorhead III
Chairman of the Board

Stroud Water Research Center Board of Directors

Frances Moran Abbott ~ Josh Auld, Ph.D. ~ Margaretta Brokaw ~ Michael Bucklin ~ Robert DiFilippo ~ John R.S. Fisher, VMD ~ Richard A. Hayne ~ Donnan Sharp Jones~ Bert Kerstetter ~ Peter Kjellerup ~ William Kronenberg III ~ Susan P. LeGros, Esq. ~ Frederick L. Meserve Jr. ~ Holly Michael, Ph.D. ~ Rodman W. Moorhead III ~ Barbara C. Riegel ~ Charles Porter Schutt III ~ Anne Stroud ~ W.B. Dixon Stroud Jr. ~ Bernard W. Sweeney, Ph.D. ~ Robert Whetzel, Esq.